Bellmore-Merrick CHSD’s ASR Students Honored at LI Science Congress

060718_science.jpg thumbnail117061
District_Science_Congress_1.jpg thumbnail117062
District_Science_Congress_2.jpg thumbnail117063
District_Science_Congress_3.jpg thumbnail117064
In April, several students in the Central High School District’s science programs completed independent research and presented their projects at the 2018 Long Island Science Congress competition. On May 22, at St. Anthony’s High School, they were awarded various honors, as well as the potential to qualify for states.

From Kennedy High School, ASR junior Whitney Sussman was awarded Highest Honors and invited to present her project at the New York State Science Congress in June. In addition to advancing to the state-level, Whitney received a $200 award for her research, “The Role of Clock Genes in Small Intestine Glucose Absorption.”

Honors was awarded to Claudia Dreyer and High Honors was awarded to David Frank and Jonathan Mashal.
From Calhoun High School, Jessica Lin took home an Honors award in the category of chemistry, for her material science research completed last summer up at MIT, “Wear of Cast Iron & Dual Phase (DP) Steel Under Varied Conditions.”

At the middle school level of the competition, from Grand Avenue, honors were awarded to Cameron Franceschina and Christopher Luisi. Highest Honors award was awarded to Tyler Bissoondial and Timothy Langone. 

Additionally, the following were also awarded: Ekaterina Fakinos, Jake Levine, Hunter Moran, and Lauren Rhakimov from Kennedy; Benjamin Berkowitz, David Collins, Ziyad Gawish and Brandon Langone from Mepham High School and Erin McNamara from Calhoun. The following received honorable mention: Peter Giannaris, Gustave Gottlieb, Jordan Kanner and Reagan Perrotta at Kennedy; Matthew Condenzio, Lauren Jones, Jake Levy, Peter Romero, Steven Manolios and Victor Zamudio from Calhoun. Meritorious was awarded to Victoria Dina and Olivia Mark from Kennedy; Kayla Schneider, Leonardo Cuozzo and Nathan Degree from Mepham and Camryn Arzt, Erin Foo, Senya Huda, Gregory Scolieri, Genevieve Triploi and Annalisa Zovich from Calhoun.