1786 State St
Merrick, NY 11566
Ms. Nicole Hollings

Assistant Principals:
Mr. Eric Gomez
Dr. Neil Testa, Ed.D.
Mr. Ken Zisel


 Attendance: 992-1312, 1353, 1354
 Guidance: 992-1319
 Main Office:

Important Information


March 2017 PTSA Meeting Flyer

Congratulations to our Students of the Month for February:

Grade 9: Melanie Fiore

Grade 10: Elizabeth Herman

Grade 11: Anjali Puri

Grade 12: Jonathan Ellison

Our staff member of the month is chemistry teacher, Mr. Ludwig.

St. Baldrick's

The St. Baldrick's event will be taking place this year on March 21 at 6PM. This is our 11th year and we have raised over $550,000. It is a time honored tradition here at Calhoun and we are looking forward to a great night. Here is the link to donate, become part of a team or create your own team: click here!

Rank One Sports

The Rank One Sports window for HS spring sports opens February 13th and closes March 12th.

Click here for more information

Class of 2021 Meeting

On Tuesday, February 28th at 7 p.m., we invite all incoming, Class of 2021, Calhoun Freshman, parents and students, to an informational meeting of our academic and extra-curricular activities. Please see revised letter attached

Click here for more information


Senior and Underclassman Portrait Schedule 2017

Click here for more information


Infinite Campus Online Grade Book

Click here for more information


Seal of Biliteracy Program

Click here for more information


National Science Honor Society Application Information

Science NHS Application

Science NHS Information

Science NHS Constitution and Bylaws



Scheduling Information for Parents of Juniors

Click here for more information


Graduation Information

Prom Parent Letter

Prom Contract

Contract for Non-Calhoun Guest

Caps and Gowns


Stop and Shop A+ Letter

BUSSES 38, 10, 17, 69

PTSA Executive Board Info

PTSA Membership Form

New Student Information System - Infinite Campus

Delayed Opening Information

For important information related to the upcoming school year, please
click on the Forms/Application tab located to the left.

Current News

Calhoun’s Rodriguez Nabs Second at Track and Field States

 Calhoun’s Rodriguez Nabs Second at Track and Field States Photo
Representing Nassau County and Calhoun High School, senior Cristin Rodriguez traveled to the New Balance Track and Field Center in New York City on March 10 to compete in her third consecutive Track and Field National Championships.  

Rodriguez, who ran the 60-meter hurdles, went up against state champions from Virginia, Texas and Florida. 

“This didn’t phase Cristin one bit,” said coach Joseph Migliano. “She got to her lane focused and determined knowing this would be her last indoor race as a high school athlete.” 

The gun went off and Rodriguez had a smooth start as she quickly jumped over each hurdle. She took second in her heat running a time of 9.10 — a personal best and the second fastest time in nationals. 

“It was a terrific end to the season for Cristin,” Migliano said. “We’ve been training since the end of spring nationals last year for a situation just like this and we were both really happy with the outcome.”

Cristin had taken four to five weeks off after pulling a hamstring during the middle of the winter season, Migliano explained. “Every day, we worked on her hamstring and she would be at practice to mentor the younger athletes; she really is a very special young woman.”

Despite the injury, Rodriguez finished the season running the fastest time she ever had and finished second in New York State. 

“This winter season has probably been the best one of my high school experience so far,” Rodriguez said. “It was definitely a season full of growth, training to get better and learning to have the confidence to run against some of the best girls in the state and nation.”

She also attributed a part of her success to Migliano. “He definitely helped me succeed throughout this season and prepared me to run the best personal records throughout high school,” Rodriguez said. “I’m very happy with what I’ve accomplished in winter and I hope to have an even better spring season.” 

Calhoun Cheerleaders Host Youth Clinic

Calhoun Cheerleaders Host Youth Clinic
The Calhoun High School cheerleaders hosted a youth cheerleading clinic on March 11 for kindergarten through eighth-grade students in the local community. Part of the proceeds will be donated to the upcoming Bellmore-Merrick Central High School District Relay for Life event.

Calhoun English Prep Students Create Bookmarks

Students in Beth Johnson’s English prep class at Calhoun High School learned research and resourcing skills with the assistance of librarian Kathryn Elefterion during a recent Women’s History Month project.
Students were assigned a historical female figure and learned how to navigate websites to find out more about this person.
“Listen to videos on Biography.com and get interesting facts or something special about the individual,” Elefterion instructed the special education students. “The point of the project is for you to learn more about these amazing women.”
Student Elizabeth Randman said she wanted to research Rosa Parks after learning about Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s civil rights efforts in a January lesson.
“Rosa Parks started the Montgomery bus boycott to stop African-Americans from giving up their seats if white people wanted to ride the bus,” she explained.
Later in the lesson, the students will also write a personal tribute to a woman in their own life, to help foster writing skills.

"This is to help them highlight things that this woman in their lives has done to inspire them,” Johnson said.

Afterward, students created bookmarks using computer software that included some details they learned.

“The bookmarks will be on display for the library's patrons to use,” Johnson added.

Calhoun AP Calculus Students are Ahead of the ‘Curve’

Dr. George Lesser’s AP calculus students at Calhoun High School recently created slope fields from differential equations.

Each student was responsible for determining the slope of a curve at a given point, sketch a small line segment on a Post-it with approximately that slope, and then place it on the coordinate plane.

“The resulting ‘slope-field’ helped them to visualize what the original function’s graph looks like,” Dr. Lesser said.

Calhoun Team Named LI Region of Virtual Enterprises Business Plan Competition Finalists

Calhoun High School’s Virtual Enterprise team, Poseidon Pure, were recently named LI Region of Virtual Enterprises Business Plan Competition finalists.

Caleigh Alfarone, Devon Bayer, Rebecca Holtz, Colleen McKenna and Sara Samir were among those chosen.

“These young ladies showed the utmost of professionalism, poise and confidence not only in their presentations but most importantly in their preparation,” said their coach/teacher Peter Palazzo. “They were extremely diligent throughout the entire process and worked seamlessly together as a cohesive unit. Their understanding and mastery of business concepts is evident in what they have accomplished.”
Poseidon Pure created a business/plan as well as the presentation as part of the competition.

“They are a [theoretical] water filtration company,” explained Palazzo. “They offer water filtration products to individuals, families, teams, schools, offices, etc. They also have charitable donations that help improve the life of others exposed to contaminated drinking water.”

The Long Island VE firms will move on to the National Business Plan Competition in New York City on April 3 at Microsoft Technology Center.