skip to main content

Bellmore-Merrick Salutes 11 Commended Students

Commended_Students_1.jpg thumbnail116499
Commended_Students_2.jpg thumbnail116500
Commended_Students_3.jpg thumbnail116501
Commended_Students_4.jpg thumbnail116502
Eleven students from the district have been named Commended Students in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program.

From Calhoun High School: David Bekore, Matthew Garber, Julia Losner and Rebecca Unz. From Kennedy High School: Ruth Bergman, Chloe Davis, Rebecca Stekol and Alixandra Wilens. From Mepham High School: Rachel Jozwik, Christopher Rosenthal and Zachary Weiss.

Commended Students placed among the top 5 percent of the country out of more than 1.5 million students who entered the competition by virtue of taking the PSAT last year.

“This is a true testament of these students’ individual ability to tackle a challenging exam and come out on top,” said Superintendent of Schools John DeTommaso.

Our Schools